Chapter History

The History of Lambda Omega Chapter

The Lambda Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated was chartered in Newport News, Virginia on January 13, 1934. Lambda Omega is the channel through which each member can improve educational, social, cultural, and economic conditions on the Virginia Peninsula.

We continue to perpetuate the ideals and principles of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority and contributes thousands of dollars annually to community service projects for educational and cultural development. Through the years, Lambda Omega has maintained an annual membership of more than 100 women. The initial focus and commitment of Lambda Omega Chapter were to play a constructive role in advocating and implementing the goals and objectives of the National organization; supporting community projects; sponsoring college scholarships for deserving high school seniors; participating in voter registration; implementing volunteer services; and offering financial support to local and national agencies. Through the years, the Chapter has hosted several Mid-Atlantic Regional Conferences, Founders’ Day Ceremonies, and Tidewater Cluster Meetings. Lambda Omega also has sponsored health and empowerment fairs, educational programs, seminars, and workshops for members and the community-at- large.

Over the years, Lambda Omega Chapter has been involved in a myriad of programs and activities — all aspiring to promote the ideals of service to mankind. Lambda Omega continues the tradition as our membership continues to grow and expand our service programs to increase the number and scope of our endeavors.

Former Chapter Presidents

1934-1935 Effie Mae Drake Green 1936-1937 Leah Kay Frazier
1938-1939 Helen Gould 1939-1941 Loyce Woodard
1942-1943 Margaret Johnson 1944-1945 Verna Ridley
1946-1947 Miriam Lane 1947-1948 Octavia Knight/Norvleate Downing
1949-1950 Agnes Buckner 1951-1953 Leah Kay Frazier
1954-1955 Talma Rattley 1956-1958 Elizabeth Jordan
1959-1961 Thelma Hill 1962-1966 Jessie M. Rattley
1967-1968 Sandra Davis 1969-1972 Katherine G. Johnson
1973 Eddyce D. Hobson 1973-1974 Olive Hopson
1975-1978 Mary Bell 1979-1980 Marion Wright
1981-1982 Katherine G. Johnson 1983-1986 Clara M. Hines
1987-1990 Daisy W. Alston 1991-1994 Clara M. Hines
1995-1996 Martha Brooks 1997-1999 Velma Barclift-Barnard
1999-2004 Joan Spratley 2005 Donna Phelps-Thomas
2005-2009 E. Jean Oliver 2010-2010 Marion Wright
2011-2012 Norma Gaither 2013-2016 Dianne Blakeney
2017-2020 Delores G. Forrest 2021-2022 Samantha RDL Richards